Department of Science and Technology Studies


The Department of Science and Technology Studies (STS) at University of Malaya was established in 1997, with mission to pursue scholarly excellence in philosophy and sociology of S&T, and innovation studies. It has inherited a rich legacy left by its predecessor, the History and Philosophy of Science Unit, set up in 1977, under the purview of the Dean’s Office of the Faculty of Science. The Department has been committed to conduct multidisciplinary research and offer STS degrees from baccalaureate to doctoral levels.

Our academic and research programmes emphasis the policy, management, economics, historical, ethical and social aspects of science, technology and innovation. The faculty members are highly qualified with training in many disciplines, including management, economics and public policy, natural science and engineering, history and philosophy and sociology.

Last Update: November 06, 2018